Halal vs Haram Gelatin

Haram Gelatin

What is a Haram Gelatin?

Do not use the kosher certified food products if they contain the following ingredients:

1) Gelatin

(2) Kosher Gelatin

(3) L-Cysteine made from human hair

(4) Wine

(5) Liquor

(6) Beer batter

(7) Rum flavor

(8) Ethyl Alcohol as a main ingredient appears on the ingredient list

(9) Cochineal or Carmine, a red color from insects

(10) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce

(11) Yeast Extract or Autolyzed Yeast made from brewer’s yeast, a byproduct of beer making

(12) Torula Yeast grown on alcohol

(13) Nucleotides (building block of nucleic acid) are obtained from yeast cells grown on alcohol, used in infant milk formulas to help babies build a good immune, digestive system and decreased incident of diarrhea.

(14) Vanilla Extract

(15) Wine Vinegar

(16) Ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavors.

i. Gelatin (Jell-o Gelatin products)

ii. Kosher Gelatin (from cow not slaughtered according Jewish slaughtering methods such as kosher gelatin in Dannon yogurts)

iii. Kosher Gelatin (from cows slaughtered according to Jewish method of slaughtered in which they pronounce name of Allah on the first cow and last cow, no pronouncement of Allah’s name between first and last cows.

iv. Wine

v. Alcohol

vi. Alcohol in Flavor (some Islamic scholars accept it as Halal and some do not)

vii. L-Cysteine from human hair
Cochineal (insect red color, all insect except grasshopper are haram according to Hanafi fiqha)

viii. Naturally Brewed Soya Sauce (Soya sauce made with wheat and soy is haram because the production of alcohol in its production and retention of 1-2% alcohol in soya sauce, Soya sauce made with water, salt, hydrolyzed vegetable protein, corn syrup and sodium benzoate is halal, it is also called All purpose Soya sauce)

ix. Brewer’s Yeast Extract ( some Islamic scholars accept it as halal and some considered it mushbooh because it is by-product of beer making) 

x. Beta Carotene (made with gelatin, if fish gelatin or vegetable oil is used then it is halal)




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *