Halal Food

Halal or Haram Bakery Product

Bakery’s Yeast: Bakery’s Yeast is considered halal.

Brewer Yeast’s: Brewer Yeast’s extract in bakery snacks: Most Muslim consumers avoid food products made from brewer’s yeast extract since it is a by-product of beer. Alcoholic beverages are prohibited in halal officially recognized organizations-certified food products.

Natural and artificial flavors: Natural and artificial flavors in bakery products are the most important ingredients for halal manufacturer products. The makeup of flavoring material must be plant-based (no meat). Petroleum-based propylene glycol is considered a halal solvent for flavoring.

Ethyl alcohol is not an acceptable halal solvent. The argument, however, is that it is evaporated during baking. Most Halal officially recognized organizations will not accept this argument, since the alcohol was originally present as a raw material in the first stage of production. Alcohol, even a small amount, produced naturally, is acceptable–such as in over ripened fruits and during yeast fermentation of dough for bread baking.

Vinegar: Only distilled vinegar is acceptable, due to the presence of a very minimal amount of diluted alcohol leftover in the vinegar. Not all alcohol is converted to acetic acid and water. Wine and balsamic vinegars are considered haram ingredients.

Shortening: Only vegetable oil, vegetable shortening, or vegetable shortening with vegetable fat based emulsifiers is acceptable as halal.

Vanilla extract and Vanilla sugar: Vanilla extract in cookie products or in ice cream is not acceptable as a halal ingredient because it contains 35% or more alcohol. Vanilla sugar made with sugar and vanilla extract also is not acceptable as halal, for the same reason.

BHT (Butylated hydroxytoluene ) and BHA (Butylated hydroxyanisole) : They are acceptable as halal ingredients only if the carrier is a vegetable oil.

β-carotene: Several processing aid ingredients are used in beta carotene color. Only fish gelatin or vegetable oil is acceptable as a carrier, or as a processing aid ingredient.

FD&C (Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic) colors: FD&C colors without any carriers are acceptable as halal colors. The problem arises when glycerin is used as a solvent in liquid FD&C colors. Only plant-based glycerin or vegetable oil is allowed in the Halal officially recognized organizations certification of halal liquid FD&C colors.

Gelatin: Unknown Gelatin or Kosher gelatin in toaster pastries or in cookies is not acceptable. Fish gelatin or gelatin obtained from cows slaughtered according to Islamic law is fine.

Cereal products: The vitamins, gelatin in marshmallows, dairy ingredients, flavors and colors in cereal products are ingredients to consider in developing a cereal product for halal markets. The source of the above ingredients must be from a halal source.

Dairy products: This is the most important category of food ingredients because it is used in many different Halal food products.

 

Comments

comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *